Instagram’s latest feature now allows users to edit their DMs — as long as they realize their mistake within 15 minutes.

The edit button will appear when you press and hold the message, and you can alter your response. The app lets the recipient know the message has been edited, but won’t tell them what’s been changed (similar to WhatsApp’s format). Before this update, users had to unsend a message, leading to its deletion, if they wanted to undo their mistakes.

Users can also now switch off the ‘seen’ receipts if they don’t want someone to know they’ve seen their message. It can apply to specific people or all your chats. ‘Seen’ (read) receipts can be altered by going to “messaging and story replies” in account settings and toggling the read receipts button off.

You’ll also soon be able to pin three message threads at the top of your inbox. Instead of scrolling through a bunch of messages, you can keep the messages from those you speak to the most up top.

The decision for the several DM updates comes from Instagram’s increased use of its Messaging feature. DMs became a top priority for Instagram a few years ago as it shifted away from just being a photo-sharing app. Many people use DMs to share content rather than sharing on the main feed or stories. Back in 2022, Mark Zuckerberg said in an earnings call that one billion Reels were shared each day over DM.

According to Instagram CEO Mark Zuckerberg, messaging presents a “major monetization opportunity” for Meta, especially through ads. Direct messaging also allows content creators to make money through subscriber-only group chats or to pitch paid partnerships with brands.